Marathon Training – Week, um, something?

It’s been a 5 week+ hiatus here at Keep Taking Another Step.  When last I wrote I was talking about my mega cold of 2016.  This wonderful of biology wound up lingering for at least three weeks, making running quite unpleasant and contributing to an overall feeling of low energy.

On top of that, a busy work schedule and an unexpected death in the family (an in-law) threw my personal plans and schedules into chaos for a time.  For three weeks in a row I only ran once for a maximum of 3 miles:  a total of 9 miles in that stretch of time as opposed to plans that would have been seen me run 69 miles in three weeks.

Things are closer to normal now and I do my four runs/week fairly consistently.  I haven’t dropped my goal of running and finishing my first full marathon in early May but at this point I don’t care if I have to walk half of the distance.  My longest run to date is just over 15 miles and I’m planning to complete 17 miles tomorrow, even if I have to walk parts of it.  I should be farther along than this, but it is what it is.

I’m not happy that my training isn’t going as planned but I just have to accept it and move on.  The marathon is one of my top priorities but it can’t be my top priority.  My work project may even force me to skip the marathon if things go awry but until there’s absolutely no choice, I’m running it and I’ll do the best I can to prepare for it.

I hope you and your plans are going better than mine or that at least you’re adapting to your situation like I am!

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

