Marathon Training 2016 – Week 7 – Colds and Essentialism

Well, this turned out to be a crap week.

I ran 4 miles on Monday night, a day earlier than normal due to a scheduling conflict on Tuesday evening.  I wasn’t planning to run again until Wednesday night.

Wednesday morning, I woke up feeling a bit stuffed up.  Throughout the morning I gradually developed more cold-like symptoms, including chills, sneezing, etc.  Finally, I left the office around 12:30 and went home.  And stayed there for the rest of the week.  It was the worst cold I’ve had in years.  I’ll spare you the ugliest of the details.  Suffice it to say that my most strenuous activities included napping, eating and drinking, reading, a bit of drawing and watching Netflix.

This was supposed to be a 31 mile week with a 14 mile long run happening today.  Nope, not happening.  I’m disappointed, of course, that I missed most of my weekly runs and I’ll probably have to ease back into running next week but I need to help my body shake this cold.  So far, so good, although I still have some lingering symptoms.  It’s just a matter of time for the rest of it to go away.

So, I’ll be replanning my running schedule because I’m not giving up on running the marathon (or at least finishing the marathon) in May.  Just need to replan.  Hopefully.

One of the interesting things to come out of all of this is that I’ve had the time to finish reading the book Essentialism.  The book is focused on life and career development by choosing to focus on essential, important activities and reducing or eliminating wasteful activities.  There is a chapter devoted to sleep and it spends some time advocating a minimum of 8 hours of sleep each night.  I’ve also been reading some articles/posts which say that you should be adding an extra minute of sleep each night for every mile you run during the week.  I tend to sleep a bit less than 7 hours per night but if I put these two ideas together I should be getting 8.5 hours of sleep per night at this point in my marathon training.

I may be overreacting to getting a cold but here’s the thing:  I almost never get colds.  This is perhaps the second cold I’ve gotten in five years and this is worse than the previous one.  So if I’m going to maintain the same exercise level, or even increase it, I think I’d better start aiming for that minimum 8 hours of sleep per night.  So that’s my new goal for the coming weeks, we’ll see if it helps.

So, this week was a bit of a wake up call, so to speak.  There’s still time to react and to learn from this cold.  I’m not feeling too anxious or upset about things, just disappointed and resigned to adjusting.  Some of my habit building/development projects went on hold so I could get over the cold, which sucks, but it was probably the right thing to do.  So be it.

I’ll leave you with a recent drawing from my February drawing challenge, it turned out fairly good.  But now I hear lunch and a nap calling me.

Hand Of Doom

 

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Marathon Training 2016 – Week 7 – Colds and Essentialism

  1. Pingback: The 26.2 mile method to achieve fatigue, pain, triumph and closure: the story of a first marathon | Keep Taking Another Step

Leave a Reply

