Marathon Training 2016 – Week 6 – Ka-Chow

Marathon Training

Week 6 has come to a close and everything is still working, which is great!  Here’s this week’s mileage count:

  • Tuesday:  3 miles (track)
  • Wednesday:  3 miles (treadmill)
  • Thursday:  6 miles (treadmill)
  • Saturday:  9 miles (track)

Total:  21 miles

I generally felt good while running but the left hamstring was tender as usual.  I’ve been noticing a lot of stiffness after a run, especially in my lower back, so I’ve started doing some yoga stretches and they worked great on the lower back!  At any rate, I’m trying to be more consistent about stretching after a run.  If only I could make myself more consistent about foam rolling…

Other Fitness

I (barely) managed to finish Week 5 of the Hundred Pushups challenge.  My form isn’t as good as when I started and I’m having to take more rest breaks to get through the sets, but right now my goal is just to get through the program.  Still, as hard as it feels at times, there’s no doubt that it’s really helping me to build muscle.  I could barely get through five good form pushups at the beginning of the program, now I can get through 15-20 without having to take a rest break, which is cool.

I’m doing crunches as well to help with my core muscles.  I’ll do three sets of 40+ crunches and I’ve been gradually increasing them over time.

I’m pleased with how things are going!

Other Challenges

I’m going to write about all of this in detail (I promise!) but this year I’ve really been focusing on goal setting, tracking behaviors, maintaining good habits and trying different things.  Some of the detail seems anal, even to me, but slowly but surely it seems to be making a difference.

I’ve never considered myself to have any talent or desire to draw but this year I decided to try it.  Every month in 2016 I’m planning to take on a creative, personal development or intellectual challenge and February is 29 days of drawing (January was about goal setting and habit tracking, FYI).  After looking into a couple of different options, I was happy to find an Android app called How To Draw.  It contains a series of drawings and it takes you through each one step by step, a few lines or shapes at a time, until you complete your drawing.  I’ve been doing this faithfully and it’s going well enough.  One advantage of this app is that all of the drawing steps are on graph paper, which is a big help in trying to size shapes and lines, as well as helping me to figure out exactly where they need to be drawn.  I’m starting to clue into some concepts that I think will help me if I continue to practice drawing, so it’s turning out to be quite rewarding.

I’ve included a recent drawing below, which is no great shakes, but it was fun, so what the hell:

kachow

So, lots of things to keep me from going stir crazy during a typical Maritime winter!

So, as the car says, until next time, KA-CHOW!

 

 

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

