Marathon Training 2016 – Week 5 – Round and Round

Another successful week on all physical activity fronts.  I completed week four of the 100 push ups challenge and I did a bunch of crunches on most days when I ran.  I ran 24 miles this, half of those on my LSD run on Saturday (yesterday).

I ran (mostly) 12 miles at the local Civic Centre’s walking/running track.  Nine laps make a full mile (see this post, when I thought about this much too hard), so I had to do 108 laps.  I wound up doing something like 114 laps, but I wound up walking about 10 of them.  I had a rhythm whereby I would run 9 laps and then walk the 10th in the opposite direction.  I did this to minimize some of the wear and tear of running continuously in the same direction as the track’s corners are a bit sharp for running.  The running went well.

Some physical problems are emerging as training continues.  My left hamstring continues to be stiff and tender and I am trying to make a habit of good stretching after my runs and rolling that muscle, plus the sides of my quads/my hips as well.  My lower back is getting stiff and sore, especially after a long run, so I need to find some kind of exercise or treatment to alleviate that problem.  I’ve noticed it especially during the past three days.  Finally, I’ve a corn forming (again) on the sole of my right foot which I think is directly related to running on that track.  None of these problems is huge but they are definitely noticeable.

Oh wait, cross-training… well, today I did some snow shoveling and used my snow blower for about 20 minutes, so I’m calling that cross-training.

In other related news, I made a couple of running journals for a special project.  They are not terribly fancy, but they will do.  They are somewhat similar to  the journal that I saw in one of Jeff Galloway’s books.  At some point (soon), I write more about my notebook making obsession.  These photos will give you some idea of what they look like.

 

Until next time, dear reader, remember to keep taking another step!

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

