Marathon Training 2016 – Week 1

Week 1 Training Update

My training goal for the next few months is preparing to run the full marathon during the Fredericton Marathon in May 2016.  I wasn’t able to run last year due to unfavorable circumstances so I’m trying again this year as the organizers let me carry my registration forward to 2016.

Just a short update on this week’s training.  My total for the week was 18.2 miles.  I’m following the Hal Higdon Novice 2 Marathon plan, so I should have done 19 miles but I had to cut one of runs short.  I did two easy 3 mile runes (although one of them actually turned out to be 2.2 miles), plus a 5 mile pace run midweek and another 8 mile easy run on the weekend.

Surprisingly, the hardest run this week was not the longest run, but instead it was the 5 mile pace run.  This is the run which you run at your planned race pace.  I’m aiming for a 10 minute/mile pace during the marathon, as it’s my first full marathon and I’m rebuilding my running capabilities after a couple of months off training.  So maintaining the 10 min/mile pace for 5 miles was a bit tricky, even though I was running on a flat track.  I think I was actually a bit faster than the goal pace a lot of the time plus the place was crowded with walkers going the opposite direction and sometimes you have to suddenly dodge small children or other people who are quite frankly taking up too much space.  I met the overall goal and no children were hurt in the process.

In addition to the running, there’s the stretching afterwards and I normally do some situps as well.

The other thing I’ve started to do is the 100 pushup program, which emphasizes good form pushups (i.e. keeping the body straight).  I’ve just finished week 1.  I’d give myself a 90% grade on this for the week as I didn’t complete the entire pushup goal on 2 of the days, being short on the last pushup of the day.  But overall I feel fine about how it went and week 2 starts tomorrow!

Other blogging plans for 2016

I’m focusing on a couple of other personal initiatives.  The first focus is on maintaining good habits, as well as working on goals and objectives on the following bases:

  • weekly
  • monthly
  • quarterly
  • annually

I’ll be writing a few blog posts about this during the year.

The second focus is a slightly crazy but creative habit of making journals and notebooks by hand.  I really, really like notebooks and making them is adding a new dimension to things, possibly giving me some slightly crazier ideas for the future.

I’ll be writing a few blog posts on this hobby as well.

Have a good week!

 

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marathon Training 2016 – Week 1

  1. courtney says:

    Haha. Glad you didn’t run over any children! Keep up the good work!

    Like

  2. Chris says:

    Good start Mark, keep it up!

    Like

  3. Steven. says:

    The running track slalom course keeps you focused. Great work this week. the hardest week. the first week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

