Marathon Training – Week 4 Update

Kind of a mixed up week.  I was supposed to following the following schedule:

  • Tuesday – 3 miles
  • Wednesday – 4 miles
  • Thursday – 3 miles
  • Saturday – 9 miles

But since it was January, weather interfered…   at least there was some warning of the midweek storms.  So here is what I actually ran this week:

  • Monday – 3 miles
  • Thursday – 4 miles
  • Friday – 3 miles
  • Sunday – 9 miles

So, despite the schedule problems, I did get 19 miles in for the week.

Monday, Thursday and Friday were on the treadmill, as usual.  During one of the runs I did at least one mile at 8 min 30 sec or so but otherwise spent most of those runs at a 9 – 10 min mile pace.  I’ve been wondering if I’ve been pushing those weekday runs a little too hard, not sure.  I always try to burn at least 400 calories, per the treadmill display.

Today’s (Sunday’s) run was a bit tough.  It was -14 C in the morning, sunny and windy, so the windchill was most definitely below -23 C.  I took a completely different running route out of town so that I was running into the wind for the first half of the run.  So glad I did, so glad I had the wind to my back on the way home!  But, to be perfectly honest, I was warm enough, although I did have to cover almost my entire face with the balaclava.  So it was a little tricky, between the wind and my glasses occasionally fogging up, but I finished without too many issues.

I practiced my hydration while running (a little tricky when the water froze but I guess that armpits were invented for thawing stuff out) and also refueling with honey (again, a little tricky when the honey comes close to freezing).  Speedwise, this run was nothing inspiring:  never above 11 minutes per mile and there were some points when I was down to 14 – 15 minute/mile pace because of snow, wind, hills, etc.  But I finished and I ran it all, except for one point when I had to retrieve the cap off of the water bottle when I dropped it.

So, fortunately, I met the weekly goal.  I’ve rarely run more than 15 miles per week, so I’m starting to push past some of my previous running accomplishments.

Next week’s goal is 21 miles:  an extra mile (up to 5) during my Wednesday run and another extra mile (up to 10) on next Saturday’s run.  It would just be awesome if the weather was more hospitable this week.

About markdykeman

One character at a time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Marathon Training – Week 4 Update

  1. Woohoo! Well done! And cold is right. Glad you persevered 🙂

    Like

  2. dhewitson says:

    ‘Nothing inspiring’? I’d say just being out in those temperatures is inspiring enough! Awesome stuff!

    Like

  3. markdykeman says:

    Thanks. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

